Check out the list of Orange Cap Winners in IPL from 2008 to 2019

Orange Cap Holders

The Orange Cap is an annual cricket award presented to the leading run taker in the Indian Premier League twentyT20 tournament. Orange Cap was first introduced in 2008 after the inaugural season of the IPL. Brendon McCullum became the first batsman to wear the orange cap and Shaun Marsh became the first winner of the award. Royal Challengers Bangalore’s Chris Gayle is the only player who has won two orange caps in 2011 and 2012 season.

Indian Premier League 2020 is the most viewed cricket tournament loved by people throughout the world. VIVO IPL 2020 season will start from 29 March 2020 and 24 May 2020.

VIVO IPL 2020 has been scheduled between 29 March 2020 and 24 May 2020. Opening match will be played on 29 March 2020 between the Mumbai Indians (MI) Vs Chennai Super Kings (CSK) which will be played in Wankhede Stadium Mumbai, Maharashtra. Final match expected to be played on 24 May 2019.

Over the years, we have witnessed the batters making this tournament his own. Many have used this tournament to forge their way into the national sides. Scoring tons and tons of runs, the batsmen have taken away the Orange Caps over the last 11 years.

List of Orange Cap Winners in IPL

Shaun Marsh (Kings XI Punjab, 2008)

Shaun Marsh

Shaun Marsh was an unknown commodity when the Indian Premier League began its journey in 2008. Roped in by Kings XI Punjab, Marsh turned out to be the consistent run-scorer for the tournament. Although Rajasthan Royals took back the trophy home, the Australia cricketer went home with the Orange Cap.

Matthew Hayden (Chennai Super Kings, 2009)

Matthew Hayden

Matthew Hayden played a significant role at the top of the batting order in the initial years of the IPL. His outstanding hitting at the top helped the MS Dhoni-led side, and Hayden’s best outing came in the second season of the IPL.

Hayden’s ability to tear off the bowling apart from the word go makes his stand apart from the rest. In 2009, the southpaw amassed 572 runs at an average of 52 from 12 games including five half-centuries to win the Orange Cap in that season.

Sachin Tendulkar (Mumbai Indians, 2010)

Sachin Tendulkar

The Master Blaster Sachin Tendulkar scored 618 runs from 15 games at an average of 47.53 including five half-centuries. He also struck a record-breaking 86 boundaries in that season to lead the scoring chart. Sachin won the IPL title in 2013 season of the tournament although he didn’t take part in the final.

Chris Gayle (Royal Challengers Bangalore, 2011)

Chris Gayle

Chris Gayle is arguably the best T20 player to play the game. His ability to hit the ball fiercely is unparallel and can hit the ball from any lengths and clears the ground with ease. Gayle won the Orange Cap award during the 4th season of IPL as he was the leading run scorer of that edition. He scored a total of 608 runs from 12 matches which helped him win this award.

Chris Gayle (Royal Challengers Bangalore, 2012)

Chris Gayle

Chris Gayle became the first player in the history of the tournament to win the Orange Cap in twice in consecutive years for Royal Challengers Bangalore. He made both the competition his own murdering the bowlers at the top of the batting order.

Gayle aggregated 733 runs in that season and was his highest score so far in any season of IPL. The Windies cricketer scored at an average of 61.08 with seven fifties and one century. Gayle also struck 59 sixes in that edition of the tournament.

Michael Hussey (Chennai Super Kings, 2013)

Michael Hussey

Chennai Super Kings is the only team to qualify for all the playoffs and have preferred to play as a team. MS Dhoni has led the teams brilliantly which is the key to their success over the years. They have produced stars over the years, and Michael Hussey took over the centre stage during the 2013 edition.

They finished as the table-toppers before losing out to Mumbai Indians in the final. Hussey held the stead for the Chennai scoring 733 runs from 17 matches at an average of 52.35 including six half-centuries at a strike-rate of 129.50.

Robin Uthappa (Kolkata Knight Riders, 2014)

Robin Uthappa

Robin Uthappa led by the Kolkata Knight Riders to the IPL title in the 2014 edition of the tournament. With experience on his side, Uthappa shouldered the responsibility at the top of the batting order.

Uthappa registered 660 runs from 16 games with five half-centuries at an average of 44. The right-handed batsman scored runs almost in all the matches giving them their second IPL title after 2012. Kolkata skipper Gautam Gambhir used Uthappa to great effect who lived up to the expectations.

David Warner (Sunrisers Hyderabad, 2015)

David Warner

David Warner is currently one of the biggest hitters of the cricket ball. Opening the innings, he is the most dangerous in the powerplay overs hitting right from the first delivery.

The Aussie batsman was at his personal best in the 2015 season of the IPL leading the team from the front. Warner registered 562 runs from 14 games with seven fifties in that season. He took batting to an all new level in the season of IPL.

Virat Kohli (Royal Challengers Bangalore, 2016)

Virat Kohli

With 973 runs from 16 matches including four massive centuries and seven fifties, the world cricket saw the legend of the current generation grace the cricket lover with some blistering hitting. It was Virat Kohli who shattered almost all the records from the earlier season to amass a record-breaking 973 runs.

David Warner (Sunrisers Hyderabad, 2017)

David Warner

David Warner has been one of the most consistent batsmen in the history of IPL. He starred for the Sunrisers Hyderabad during their successful season in 2016, although Warner didn’t finish as the highest run-scorer.

Meanwhile, Warner came back in the next edition to showcase his talent once again. The southpaw scored 641 runs from 14 matches to finish as the highest run-getter of the tournament and take home the Orange Cap. Warner amassed at an average of 58.27 including one hundred and four fifties.

Kane Williamson (Sunrisers Hyderabad, 2018)

Kane Williamson

The last year of the IPL saw Sunrisers Hyderabad skipper Kane Williamson take home the Orange Cup. It was a well-fought competition with many contenders for the highest run-scorer of the season. But Williamson took it home despite losing the final to Chennai Super Kings.

Williamson finished with 735 runs from 17 matches at an average of 52.50 including eight half-centuries. He showed some classical display of batting mainly focusing on ones and twos but also maintained a good strike-rate throughout the season.

David Warner (Sunrisers Hyderabad, 2019)

David Warner

Warner left the tournament midway to resume his national duties ahead of the World Cup. However, before leaving India, the Aussie batsman notched 692 runs from 12 matches including eight half-centuries and one hundred. The southpaw was consistent during his stay and showed the world what he is capable of.

Stay Tuned to get all the latest information about 2020 Indian Premier League!

Author: Sarvesh Patil

It's me Sarvesh Patil behind If you want to contribute or publish your post on this blog, contact me at

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *